BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP 2017

Prof Joyce Tsoka-Gwegweni	Chair (Public Health)
Professor Douglas Wassenaar	Deputy Chair - Clinical Psychologist
Professor Virendra Rambiritch	Deputy Chair - Pharmacology
Dr Colleen Aldous	Genetics
Professor Rajendra Bhimma	Paediatrics & Child Health
Dr Timothy Hardcastle	Surgery – Trauma
Dr Zakhele Khumalo	KZN Health (External)
Dr N Ray Maharaj	Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Dr Tanya Maistry	Anatomy and Genetics
Ms Thoko Makhanya	External – Community Representative
Rev Siziwe Chili	External – Community Representative
Professor Thembinkosi E Madiba	General Surgery
Dr Saeeda Paruk	Psychiatry
Prof Ashley Ross	External – Homeopathy
Professor Christopher Rout	Anaesthetics
Dr Dhivendra Singh	Critical Care
Dr Shenuka Singh	Dentistry
Dr Takshita Sookan	Biokinetics, Exercise and Leisure
Mr Hilton Humphries	Research Psychology and Public Health
Dr Munira Khan	External - Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Dr Rohen Harrichandpersad	Neurosurgery
Dr Khumbulani Hlongwana	Public Health
Dr Keshena Naidoo	Public Health

Professor Jack Moodley

SAE Officer