BIOMEDICAL RESEARCH ETHICS COMMITTEE

MEMBERSHIP 2023

Professor D Wassenaar Clinical Psychology and Research Ethics (Chair)

Professor R Bhimma Paediatrics & Child Health (Deputy Chair)

Professor N Abbai Microbiology and Molecular Biology

Professor C Aldous Genetics and Research Support

Professor V Bangalee Pharmacy

Pastor S D Chili Community/Lay Member (External)

Dr Z Essack Research Psychology and Research Ethics

Professor T Hardcastle Surgery

Dr K Hlongwana Public Health
Dr A Harrichandparsad Public Health

Dr R Harrichandparsad Neurosurgery

Dr H Humphries Research Psychology and Public Health

Dr M Khan HIV Clinician

Dr Z Khumalo KZN Health, General Medicine (External)

Dr R Lessells Infectious Diseases Specialist

Professor D Moodley Women's Health

Dr S Paruk Psychiatry

Dr H Ramnarain Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Dr P Pillay Clinical Anatomy

Dr T Sookan Biokinetics

Dr M Smith Anaesthetics and Critical Care

Dr D Singh Critical Care

Professor A Strode Health Law and Research Ethics