Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.
College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science

Prof Sunil Dutt Maharaj

Professor Sunil Dutt Maharaj

Professor Maharaj completed his PhD at the University of Witwatersrand. He is a Senior Professor in the School of Mathematics at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, and in 2009 was named a Lifetime Fellow. In 2005 he was appointed Director of the Astrophysics and Cosmology Research Unit. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of South Africa. He was a recipient of the Vice-Chancellor’s Research Award as well as the South African Mathematical Society Medal for the International Year of Mathematics. He has previously held the positions of treasurer and secretary in the South Africa Gravity Society, South African Mathematical Society, and served on the National Committee for the International Mathematical Union. Presently he is a member of the Council, and Treasurer, of the Academy of Science of South Africa, and is a board member of the NRF. He is involved in the organisation of many conferences in South Africa and abroad. He has published many papers in international journals, supervised several MSc and PhD students, and made several conference presentations.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved