Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.
Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)


The US National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guidelines require that an Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) be established to screen research proposals involving recombinant DNA molecules. This is not only mandatory for institutions seeking NIH funding but it is also critical to the safe conduct of research of this nature and to the fulfillment of an institutional commitment to the protection of staff, the environment, and public health.

The composition of IBC

  1. Prof Virendra Rambiritch - Chair IBC
  2. Dr Nisha Singh- Coordinator IBC - DNA technology
  3. Prof Joyce Mahlako Tsoka-Gwegweni - Chair of BREC
  4. Dr Ann Strode - Legal
  5. Prof Colleen Aldous - DNA Recombinant technology
  6. Dr Dalene Vosloo - DNA/Biosafety, containment/animal research
  7. Prof Poovendhree Reddy - External, Environment
  8. Dr Nalini Govender - External, Public safety


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved