Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.


The publication count exercise is the annual compilation of the University's research output, which is submitted to the national Department of Higher Education and Training (DoHET) for the allocation of the research output for government subsidy to the institution.

The Research Office is responsible for collecting and capturing data for the publication count as well as the Annual Research Report. Detailed information is provided below on the Publication Count Guidelines. Please note that all outputs in the recognised categories must meet the criteria of accreditation in order to qualify for inclusion in the publication count.

DHET Publication Count Guideline

The University of KwaZulu-Natal, through the Publications Count unit of its Research Office conducts an annual counting of research output, compiles it, and submits to the Department of Higher Education Training (DHET) for the allocation of Government subsidy to the University.

The following are the three categories for research output submission:

  1. Articles in peer-reviewed DHET accredited journals
  2. Peer-reviewed books (full length), and book chapters
  3. Peer-reviewed published conference proceedings

Individual researchers are responsible for loading their research output electronically on the web-based Integrated Research Management Application (IRMA) database. 


Only DHET accredited journals are recognized for the allocation of subsidy. Please click here for the list of DHET approved Journals. Also see the set of Publication count guide 2016 herein.

Classification of Education Subjet Matter (CESM)

Universities are required by the DoHET to submit, for inclusion in the Higher Education Management Information System (HEMIS), annual data returns on students and staff. The notions of “fields of study” and “course” are used extensively in these data returns. Because universities tend to use unique titles for their offerings, they have been required to classify the subject matter embedded in their fields of study and courses in standard ways. These standard classifications are set out in Classification of Education Subject Matter (CESM) manuals. The first manual was published in 1982, and a revised version in 2008. The revised manual has to be implemented by all institutions from the 2010 HEMIS reporting year. Below are the standard "fields of study":

  • 01 Agriculture, Agricultural Operations and Related Sciences
  • 02 Architecture and the Built Environment
  • 03 Visual and Performing Arts
  • 04 Business, Economics and Management Studies
  • 05 Communication, Journalism and Related Studies
  • 06 Computer and Information Sciences
  • 07 Education
  • 08 Engineering
  • 09 Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences
  • 10 Family Ecology and Consumer Sciences
  • 11 Languages, Linguistics and Literature
  • 12 Law
  • 13 Life Sciences
  • 14 Physical Sciences
  • 15 Mathematics and Statistics
  • 16 Military Sciences
  • 17 Philosophy, Religion and Theology
  • 18 Psychology
  • 19 Public Management and Services
  • 20 Social Sciences
Contact Us

Mrs Joly Lutakwa

Tel: 031 260 7224
Fax: 031 260 2384



Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved