Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.


The Research Chair in Rural Agronomy and Development - in the Energy and Technology for Sustainable Development Research Focus Area - enjoy high priority in terms of the strategic planning of the college of Agriculture, Engineering and Science.

Its focus and thematic areas are aligned with the key strategic areas and thrusts of the SA National Agriculture and Development Strategy (DoA 2008), particularly human capital development; innovation and transfer of technology; and collaboration and partnerships.

The work of the Chair will involve contributing to community development through research, agricultural innovation and agricultural extension. The work will be done in partnership with public institutions and other agriculture-supporting bodies. It is aligned with the Government’s priorities of employment creation food security, support for smallholder farmers and sustainable livelihoods, rural wealth creation and skills development.

The Chair will contribute to the development of new technology to support smallholder farmers in agriculture, and the agricultural industry in general. It will also contribute towards human capital development through training of

postgraduate students at MSc and PhD levels.

The Chair will have strong links with the existing centres of excellence such as the African Centre for Crop Improvement (ACCI) and African Centre for Food Security (ACFS) at UKZN

Rural Agronomy and Development 

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved