Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.
SARChI Chairs

The South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) of the NRF is a strategically focused knowledge and human resource intervention that has five interrelated objectives:

  • To increase the number of world class researchers in South Africa,

  • To retain and/or attract back qualified research scientists to the Higher Education sector and thereby:

  • To help reverse the systemic decline in research outputs, focus and capacity at publicly funded higher education institutions (HEIs), Science Councils and other research institutions,

  • To strengthen and improve the capacity of HEIs, Science Councils, Musea and other research institutions (e.g., University linked Teaching Hospitals) to generate and apply new knowledge,

  • To stimulate strategic research across the knowledge spectrum and thereby increase the level of excellence in research areas of national and international importance,

  • To create research career pathways for highly skilled, high quality young and mid-career researchers that effectively addresses historical racial, gender and age imbalances,

  • To improve and accelerate the training of highly qualified personnel through research.

The aim of the Initiative is to make South Africa competitive in the international knowledge economy based on its existing and potential strengths. The NRF will create 15 new Research Chairs in 2009 towards the ultimate goal of 210 Chairs by 2010.


The University has the following 10 South African Research Chairs, an initiative of the Department of Science and Technology and the National Research Foundation:

UKZN Westville Campus

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved