Did you know?

The University Research Office is based at the Govan Mbeki building on Westville campus

The University of KwaZulu-Natal currently has more than 250 post-doctoral fellows

Funds requests must be directed through the Colleges at the office of the College Dean of Research

You can upload your own publications on IRMA and ResearchSpace

ResearchSpace is the institutional repository of UKZN. It is a collection of full text theses and also includes research publications produced by UKZN academics.

Welcome to one of the largest, oldest and most transformed universities in sub-Saharan Africa, the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN). UKZN is one of three African universities rated amongst the top 500 universities in the world, is third in Africa according to the Academic Rankings of World Universities (ARWU), and is recognised as the third most research productive university in South Africa. The university is located in two cities, Durban and Pietermaritzburg, and has five campuses- Edgewood, Howard College, Nelson R. Mandela School of Medicine, Pietermaritzburg and Westville-with four Colleges which include the College of Science, Engineering and Science (CAES); College of Health Sciences (CHS); College of Humanities (CH) and the College of Law and Management Studies (CLMS). A total of 19 Schools is spread across these colleges which offer approximately 2000 academic programs, which includes vibrant post-graduate programs.  

As one of South Africa’s pre-eminent research institutions, UKZN provides a dynamic research and innovation environment to flourish as a researcher. Research activities span the university’s research focus which include: HIV/AIDS, TB and Health Promotion; Social Development and Economic Studies; Water, Environment and Biodiversity; Biotechnology; Agriculture and Food security; Energy and Technology for Sustainable Development; Gender, Race and Identity Studies; Indigenous Knowledge Systems; and Maritime Studies. Internationally recognised HIV and AIDS research centres such as the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA); KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV (K-RITH), Health Economics and HIV/AIDS Research Division (HEARD) and the Centre for HIV/AIDS Networking (HIV911), are located at UKZN. The establishment of several interdisciplinary centres and institutes which include the African Vision Research Institute (AVRI), African Centre for Crop Improvement (ACCI); Centre for Literacy Studies; Centre for Cosmology and Astrophysics; Centre for Critical Research on Race and Identity; Centre for Quantum Technologies; Centre for Smart Materials; Ujamaa Centre for Contextual Hermeneutics; and the Africa Centre for Health and Population Studies, all contribute to the rich intellectual tapestry of this university. Furthermore, UKZN is home to 11 prestigious South African Research Chairs, an initiative of the Department of Science and Technology and the National Research Foundation in the following areas:

  • Systems Biology an HIV and AIDS
  • Evolutionary Biology
  • Quantum Information Processing and Communication
  • Economic Development
  • Fluorine Process Engineering and Separation Technology
  • Gravitating Systems
  • Applied Poverty Reduction Assessment
  • Land Use Planning and Management
  • Rural Agronomy and Development
  • Intelligent Real Time Power Systems
  • Indigenous Healthcare Systems

The UKZN multicultural landscape is infused by both its diverse local cultures, as well as the more than 2582 international students from over 96 countries, who are proudly part of this institution. With one of the oldest International Relations offices in the country, the university has international institutional partnerships with over 46 countries, providing students and staff direct global experience in the areas of teaching, learning and research. 


Click to read more about Postdocs Fellows at UKZN Under Counstruction
  About Postdocs at UKZN    Postdoc Committee    Postdocs Gallery   
Click to read more about UKZN Postdoc Committee profiles

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved